The Far East Project http://fareast.sosayweallonline.com A People's History of San Diego's East County Tue, 11 Dec 2012 21:21:32 +0000 en-US hourly 1 Cows in the Rain – Martha Kennedy http://fareast.sosayweallonline.com/cows-in-the-rain-martha-kennedy/ Tue, 27 Nov 2012 16:47:01 +0000 http://fareast.sosayweallonline.com/?p=198 Cows in the Rain - Martha Kennedy

I live in one of the historic stone houses in Descanso. Most of these photos are of ordinary things I see just living in this beautiful town.  – Martha Kennedy

 

]]>
Trailer – Steve Drimmel http://fareast.sosayweallonline.com/trailer-steve-drimmel/ Fri, 16 Nov 2012 22:13:21 +0000 http://fareast.sosayweallonline.com/?p=189 Trailer

My image, Trailer, shot in a backyard in Lakeside California depicts how it may feel for some of today’s youth to dream of a more prosperous life. The scene represents the appearance of the hopelessness that goes along with feeling stuck in low income Small Town, USA.

The message that is conveyed is that it is always possible to better yourself, no matter where you come from. Desire, hard work, a…nd education are the keys to open the doors of a better future. This opportunity is available to any child with determination to pull themselves out of the hardship and poverty that prior generations have fallen into and remained. Children in today’s society are being forced to grow up at a much faster pace than that of their parents or grandparents. Modern technology has brought an overwhelming abundance of information that not only has broadened their horizons, but has forced the younger population to be inundated with material that can rob them of their childhood innocence at an alarming rate.

Today’s technology can be a blessing and can open a multitude of doors for brighter futures and opportunities; however, it must go hand in hand with the proper guidance of adults, parents, teachers, etc. who are committed to being involved in helping these young people reach toward their own personal goals.

Their gaze is drawn through the wilderness of the past and into the future of possibilities. – Steve Drimmel

]]>
Security Features – Matt Lewis http://fareast.sosayweallonline.com/security-features-matt-lewis/ Mon, 12 Nov 2012 13:10:34 +0000 http://fareast.sosayweallonline.com/?p=174 Security Features - Matt Lewis

 “Up in Cleveland National Forest, my buddy Pete said he wouldn’t  be ready for the wilderness until he had a knife and a wide-brimmed hat. The knife was picked up at a souvenir store on the way, and the hat is borrowed from a fellow camper. Even though he got what he wanted, he still looks dubious as the sun sets about the night ahead.” – Matt Lewis.

]]>
Lakeside Elementary Christmas Pageant – C.j. Arabia http://fareast.sosayweallonline.com/lakeside-elementary-christmas-pageant-c-j-arabia/ Sat, 10 Nov 2012 04:34:49 +0000 http://fareast.sosayweallonline.com/?p=168

“Lakeside Elementary Christmas Pageant, 1977ish.” – C.j. Arabia

]]>
Life in the Snow Zone – Martha Kennedy http://fareast.sosayweallonline.com/life-in-the-snow-zone-martha-kennedy/ Fri, 09 Nov 2012 22:54:42 +0000 http://fareast.sosayweallonline.com/?p=156 Life in the Snow Zone

“I live in one of the historic stone houses in Descanso. Most of these photos are of ordinary things I see just living in this beautiful town.” – Martha Kennedy.

]]>
Bad Moon over Cleveland – Matt Lewis http://fareast.sosayweallonline.com/bad-moon-over-cleveland-matt-lewis/ Thu, 08 Nov 2012 19:40:58 +0000 http://fareast.sosayweallonline.com/?p=151 Bad Moon over Cleveland

“A friend of mine rented a campground in Cleveland National Forest last year for his girlfriend’s birthday. However, because of the time of year (November) we had virtually no neighboring groups and felt like we had the whole campground to ourselves. This picture is from a hike we took in late afternoon, when the moon was just starting to show over the treeline.” – Matt Lewis.

]]>
February Snow – Leslie Yoder http://fareast.sosayweallonline.com/february-snow-leslie-yoder/ Tue, 06 Nov 2012 03:32:56 +0000 http://fareast.sosayweallonline.com/?p=139

“Late the evening of February 26, 2011, snow fell in Jamul–a rare event. These photos were taken either around midnight on the 26th or the next morning around 7:30am at my home in Lawson Valley, Jamul. One features a view of Gaskill Peak.” — in Jamul.

 

]]>
“The Manhattan Playhouse” – Justin Hudnall http://fareast.sosayweallonline.com/the-manhattan-playhouse-justin-hudnall/ Tue, 06 Nov 2012 03:15:18 +0000 http://fareast.sosayweallonline.com/?p=134

The Manhattan Playhouse in Lakeside, for sale and tattered but still a inspiring relic among small town stages. A faded poster in the gated entrance way advertizes the last show to take place there, some time ago, was a local production of “You’re A Good Man Charlie Brown.” – Justin Hudnall

]]>
Cozy Street Art Scene 1 – Kinsee Morlan http://fareast.sosayweallonline.com/cozy-street-art-scene-1-kinsee-morlan/ Tue, 06 Nov 2012 00:29:35 +0000 http://fareast.sosayweallonline.com/?p=126

“I took these photos with my iPhone. My hubby and I took on the Amazing Geocache Challenge, one of the City of La Mesa’s cute ways of celebrating their centennial. Most of the clues were simple and finding what they wanted us to find didn’t prove to be much of a challenge. It was fun, though, and nice to get out and see small, quirky details of La Mesa that I’ve never noticed before. I particularly enjoyed this street-art piece in an alley in downtown La Mesa and the rhino yard art. I’d tell you the locations, but it’s more exciting if you actually take the challenge and find them yourself: http://cityoflamesa100.com/DocumentView.aspx?DID=35” — Kinsee Morlan

]]>
Last Ranch in Ocotillo – Justin Hudnall http://fareast.sosayweallonline.com/last-ranch-in-ocotillo-justin-hudnall/ Sun, 04 Nov 2012 23:40:18 +0000 http://fareast.sosayweallonline.com/?p=122

“This is the last ranch on the San Diego County-side of Ocotillo off I-78. The Imperial County sign is just out of frame to the left.” – Justin Hudnall

 

 

]]>